Skip to main content

NC State Extension

NCFS State Board

Current Board Members

Jennifer Rosencrans

NC Farm School and agriculture in Davidson County are not the same without the passionate leadership that Jennifer(right) provides. She and her husband Ben Rosencrans(left) own Crossings Farm in Lexington, NC. We are proud to have her strong voice and kind advocacy on the NCFS board. Her agricultural knowledge, practical experience, and marketing expertise are huge assets to advancing NC Farm School for the purpose of serving farmers.

Amy-Lynn Albertson

Amy-Lynn is the county extension director in Rowan County. She has been a proponent of agricultural business training throughout her career but has worked with local foods, horticulture, nurseries, greenhouse, forestry, landscape, and local farmers markets. NC Farm School’s advancement in mission and vision owes credit to her efforts at the county and state level. Without her efforts in team building and promotion, NC Farm School would not have the demand it does today. Photo Credit: Rowan Chamber

Gary Dunn

Gary Dunn, owner of White Oak Farm in Bisco, NC is a strong leader in his community. He and his wife Connie are constantly mentioned by those in their community as kind-hearted servants desiring to give back to those around them. Having been business owners in their community for a number of years they know the importance, need, and vision for passing on the legacy of agriculture for the benefit of others. NC Farm School greatly benefits from his experience and practical approach to agriculture.

Tonya Taylor

Ms. Taylor earned a degree in environmental studies with a focus on nature in human culture from Bates College. Additionally, she is a permaculturalist, an NCSBA-certified beekeeper, a North Carolina Cooperative Extension NC Farm School graduate, and a member of the North Carolina Agriculture Leadership Development Program. Tonya has experience with heirs’ property/land retention issues pertaining to historically underserved communities, conservation and stewardship, and community food systems. She has an appreciation of mixed media arts, music, culture, and a strong affinity for international travel.

David Allen

David Allen holds an MBA and has served as a police chief but more importantly has a pragmatic approach to agriculture that helps guide NC Farm School to serve and protect farming in North Carolina. Having benefitted from NC Farm School training he applied his skills to develop Tranquility farm in Mooresville, NC. David has gone on to pass his knowledge on to future farmers by teaching agricultural business at a local community college.

Gregory Stromberg

Greg currently serves as the president of the NC Farm School board. He holds an MBA and utilized NCFS training to develop a land management plan to keep family land in future production for agriculture. NCFS would not be the same without this strong advocate for farming and farm business training.

David Fogarty

David Fogarty is the county extension director in Gaston County. As county director, he has focused key efforts in advancing local foods, horticulture, and community development projects. His steady hand has guided an NC Farm School program in his county as well as pooling the efforts of neighboring counties to train farmers with needed business skills.

Kathryn Holmes

Kathryn has been consistently recognized for her role in leading efforts in pesticide safety as an agricultural agent in Rockingham County. She consistently engages farmers to share her horticultural expertise leading training in propagation, planting, harvesting, marketing, and pesticide applications. She provides vigilance and guidance for the NC Farm School board and consistently recognizes the need to commit to the vision of growing agriculture in North Carolina.